Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whaas_5a

Little ways to go yet...

whaas_5a
7 years ago

Last spring I didn't own a home so I'm counting the days like I've never done before!

Feel free to post a pick me up too!

Picea omorika 'Pendula Bruns'....it took a while to appreciate a conifer skirt

Picea pungens 'Straw'...incredible two tone color almost year round

The classic Picea glauca 'Pendula'

Picea abies 'Dandylion'....this guy made the trek to my new place!

Abies concolor 'Wattezii Prostrate'...best blue of any Abies concolor I had

Comments (50)

• waynedanielson
    7 years ago

I have found that as i've moved away the never ending winters and eternal permafrost of the upper Midwest, my spring anticipation has lessened. years like this year, I get winter anticipation...we had one weekend where temps dipped below zero, but otherwise, not enough cold to freeze the water in a teacup.

Then I got the terrible affliction where you spend days and days hunched over a stainless steel evaporator, constantly feeding the beast firewood...all to get some syrup at the end of the process.

whaas_5a thanked waynedanielson
  • tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    7 years ago
    last modified: 7 years ago

Winter gives me a rest, so I make the best of it.

A couple of hemlocks and hosta...

...and a few others...

tj

• whaas_5a
    Original Author
    7 years ago

maackia and tj, nice to see a mix of plants!

Can't believe you have such a nice Little Honey!

• User
    7 years ago

Sweeet! Amazing colors and specimens, both of you!

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    7 years ago

"Can't believe you have such a nice Little Honey"

Last winter was relatively mild so it didn't die to the snow line and I had it protected from rabbits.

tj

• whaas_5a
    Original Author
    7 years ago

Yeah those rats are tough in the city. Shockingly I haven't seen a rabbit yet around by me. The deer could be an issue along with the voles though.

How old is your sargent cherry now btw?