Marshall JCM 2000 DSL 401 power cutting in and out

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marshall JCM 2000 DSL 401 power cutting in and out

Hi all, from sunny Pevensey Bay, Sussex, UK.

Having found this thread after a Google search:

http://music-electronics-forum.com/t12900/

I posted there for advice. I was immediately helped by OC Disroder and J M Fahey.

Thanks guys for your help.

Their first suggestion was to make a new post and refer the old one. Check.

They then suggest posting a schematic - I hope that has appeared here now (not hugely familiar with attaching in forums).

OC suggests thumping the amp on top - I'm waiting for it to warm up as I write this thread.

I've had the amp for 19 years and it's been a gem - it's had a hard life, being stored on my boat when I was a travelling musician in the Mediterranean, then stored in the garage for the last couple of years. I'm kinda thinking it's simple bad connections but i thought I'd have a look online first.

I have read the thread I mention above and tried disconnecting and reconnecting all the leads (with the amp switched off, diconnected and left for several hours in case of capacitors still holding charge), I've pulled and pushed the speaker jack in and out several times to try to dislodge any accumulation of dirt. I also wiggled (gently) all the valves in their sockets, pulled them slightly then pushed back home without actually taking them out. All of the previous is just to try to make sure the connections are all good.

In my other post I asked "Can anyone help by leading me through a diagnostic/repair method?" - J M Fahey asked me - can I be a Tech?

In answer to that: